Skip to main content

Executive Committee Changes

By March 21, 2015March 22nd, 2015Club, Juniors, Mens, Womens

Rebecca Thompson stepped down as Women President at the Annual General Meeting in November last year. At that time we had no nominees to replace Rebecca and have been carrying a vacancy since that date. I can now announce that we have appointed a new Womens President, Christine Johnstone (AKA George).

As George has been the Secretary since the end of 2013, this also necessitated a replacement for her. Therefore, I am very pleased to announce a new member to the Executive Committee, Bareetu Aba-Bulgu.

It is great to have Bareetu on the Committee for a number of reasons including her enthusiasm and connection with the Metro Women’s teams but also as a further female representative. However, we are still under-weight on female participation on the Executive Committee with 2 female members out of 11. Diversity, including but not limited to sex, is a key to driving the most effective outcomes for all organisations so I am hoping we can continue to attract new female Waverley members to the Executive Committee in future years.

The above changes to the Executive Committee have been undertaken in line with the 2013 Constitution of the Waverley Hockey Club. If anyone has any questions about these changes or the Executive Committee in general, please contact the President, Drew Ashton, via